The Day of the Jackal & T-Nation’s "Shadow Pro"

I don’t know why I bother with these long-ass book reviews.  The only time it was fun was with Rise and Fall of the 3rd Reich vs. Evans Book 1.  So – if you haven’t read The Day of the Jackal, you should because it was awesome.  If you have read it, post in comments and we’ll discuss.  If you have no intention of reading it, all I have to say to you is that the only thing it has in common with the Bruce Willis movie The Jackal is that the one-sentence summary for both could read: “Law enforcement officials attempt to prevent a professional assassin with a specially made gun from killing a political figure.” After that, they differ, most notably in that the movie was a piece of shit.  The only memorable part was this.  Literally the only thing I remembered about the movie.  I didn’t even remember that Bruce Willis had that ridiculous mustache. 


Bought two new 4×6 mats to expand the gym.  Was gonna buy a third and cut it for use as intermediate rack heights.  The mats are 1/2 inch thick so if I cut it in half and stacked them, it would be 4x3x1″.  Instead, TSC was selling 4×3 mats so I bought 3 of them and now I can make 1/2 inch intervals and didn’t have to cut.  (hmm, but spent twice as much money)


I know it’s easy to beat on T-Nation.  I could write a post like that one every week.  One of my favorite part of T-mag used to be when they had gossip about IFBB bodybuilders, and interviews with (anonymous) steroid dealers.

Now they have this guy Shadow Pro writing these shitty articles that I always click on.  But they are totally uninteresting and reveal nothing of any substance or value.  This was one of the worst:

The only people who I’ve seen suffer from serious health issues are combining steroids with recreational drug use or narcotic painkillers.

Guess he never saw Andreas Munzer.

It’s a recipe for disaster.

I’m surprised to learn that combining steroids and narcotics is unhealthy.

The media likes to blow up stories like this and blame steroids immediately, without any kind of investigation into the subject. The people who are writing these stories have no educational background in sport.

The person who is writing these articles has no personal bias and never exaggerates.

I think any steroid – or any other drug for that matter – can put you at risk if it’s abused.

Don’t go out on a limb there.

This is an example of a common pro-bodybuilder cycle [cycle follows]. It’s something I’ve done before and I do not recommend this for anyone!

::Yawns:: It’s a list of a bunch of drugs, not anything I’ve not read before.  This would have been interesting to read online in 1994, maybe.  Even guys who do juice probably will learn nothing.  However, teens and novice lifters take note:  If you are really committed to competing in the IFBB, you need to step your game up.

Insulin is very dangerous if the bodybuilder is uneducated. If you really know what you’re doing, you can use it safely.

Cool, I’m 17 and I’ve been reading T-Nation for 2 years.  Pretty sure I qualify.

Insulin – For advanced lifters only! 5-10 IU pre-workout followed by drinking Plazma ™ right away.

TC reaches a new low by inserting supplement plugs into this article.  “Hey folks, when you’re shooting unprescribed insulin, make sure you take our supplement right away.”  Imagine TC Luoma working for Hanes (not sure why he’d interview a dead serial killer but roll with it):

Q: Mr. Bundy, what did you use to strangle those women? 

A: Usually rope – or L’Eggs brand pantyhose which are known for their durability and fit. 

Best Tip for Gaining in the Off Season

Humalog and Plazma combination: 5-10 IU 10 minutes pre-workout followed by 2-3 servings of Plazma. (Not for beginners!)

Why do I feel that this is not just sloppy editing and they intentionally phrased it like this to make it seem that Plazma is the part of this combination that’s not for beginners?

5 thoughts on “The Day of the Jackal & T-Nation’s "Shadow Pro"

  1. I feel like the message was more “don’t compare yourself to pro BBers because the amount they spend on drugs per year is more than all your college loans put together”.

    Yeah, it’s a shitty article, basically a regurgitation of established facts. T-Nation is mostly filler these days. But I’d still rather read about steroid use that another horseshit article about the value of compound lifts and how you can build big arms with chinups (and Plasma Indigo or whatever). Or a Ben Bruno piece on Bulgarian split squats and how they cure cancer and blindness.

  2. “Insulin For advanced lifters only! 5-10 IU pre-workout followed by drinking Plazma™ right away. This is a moderate dosage, a lot of guys are using much more.”

    “Best Tip for Gaining in the Off Season

    Humalog and Plazma combination: 5-10 IU 10 minutes pre-workout followed by 2-3 servings of Plazma. (Not for beginners!) ”

    Wow, you were not joking… PLAZMA.

    Andreas Munzer was supposedly on amphetamines and benzos. But yeah, I love this modern trend of “pfft, steroids, not dangerous at all! Take a gram a week right now or you’re a pussy!”

  3. 1. There was a movie version of The Day of the Jackal from the ’70s, although I don’t remember whether I’ve seen it.

    2. After having enjoyed The Day of the Jackal myself, I read The Dogs of War and found out that Frederick Forsyth decided to economize on sex scenes by only ever writing one and putting it into multiple novels.

  4. So, Day of the Jackal is a good read. It’s been a while since I read it, but I know that upon completion, I began to read his other books in earnest. None were as good as that one.
    T-Nation is something I used to read, strictly for the Dan John articles,but now I rarely even look at the site. It is laughable at times. My go to references are JTS and PLW.
    Glad you got the mat situation worked out.

Leave a Reply

