Home Gym and World War II

ahhh workout logs – boring and uneventful.  For a while I was throwing them away as I diligently logged my progress on here, now I guess i gotta save like 2 weeks worth bc the sheer tedium of typing them in is too much.

fine: at the Y, squatting like 385 for doubles, then benching 315 for singles and doubles, then working up to speed pulls with 390 or something.  Then a few days off as I set up my home gym, or really waiting for it to arrive – just the thought of driving somewhere to work out is now literally painful; and once it came, I set it up in a few hours.

Then here worked up to a 415 squat single, benched 330 but lifted my butt, deadlifted like 385 because i don’t have enough bumpers+35s and too lazy to load on lots of 45s.

i weigh about 165.  yesterday I worked out twice.  I may be able to low bar squat again.  I taped my workout today.  Will post vid maybe tomorrow.

HSilman or others, what do you want to know about the stuff I bought?  I was going to do a comprehensive review of everything but … nah.  However I will if you ask.  Everything’s generally good. 

The $300 titan “CROSSFIT SQUAT BENCH DEADLIFT POWER OLYMPIC CROSSFIT” rack (that’s pretty much the name of it – it’s apparently named after powerful internet SEO keywords) is sweet.  You do need certain wrenches which I can now advise on (and Celica could always have)

The $125 CAP OB-86B barbell is good – I ordered another.  It’s a little dark, and my garage is dark, so it’s hard to see the knurling or the lines.  I did make a mark in the very center of the bar with a gold marker so I could be straight.

It’s funny that the rack and the barbells are budget but they are both a lot better than anything I have used in a commercial gym.  I think Fatman predicted this.

The bumper plates I got are good but I coulda saved like $15 (total) if I’d ordered them from the company instead of Amazon.  My bad.

The spring collars and weight tree are good.  I may have to get another weight tree. 

The flooring from the tractor supply company is awesome.

The Adidas bench is very good and low to the ground for short-legged types like myself.

Okay the one shitty thing was some of the weights.  One of the 45s (gray CAP, no grips) is bent like a record that was left out in the sun.  Will try to return it if feasible.  Another one weighs 43 (UPS weighed it right – they’d marked the wt on the package)   Haven’t weighed anything else; kinda don’t want to know.  I don’t know if the black CAP ones from Walmart (35s and down) are actually better or if I was just unlucky but I would NOT order gray CAP weights from Amazon ever again.


Been reading Rise and Fall of the 3rd Reich.  I’m about halfway through.  No spoilers please.  ha. Some things I noticed/learned:

  • Hitler totally clowned Roosevelt in speeches.  Like reading a letter from FDR in a speech to the Reichstag line by line, then mocking each line while they laughed at him.  The letter was pretty naive TBH, like “Please promise you won’t invade the following countries…”
  • I always knew Chamberlain was a pussy.  I always knew that he let the Czechs & others get fucked up.  And I knew that if he or the French had the balls they could have stopped Hitler much more easily at any time between 1933-1938.  But I didn’t realize this do-nothing attitude basically drove Russia to take their chances with Germany.  Which then led to Hitler invading Poland, etc.
  • The author (William Shirer – you can google him – he was an american journalist who lived in Germany for years before and during the war) tends to repeatedly describe people the same way.  For example, Goering is “the fat field marshal”, Ribbentrop is stupid/arrogant, Hindenberg is/was “ancient”.  He’s called Goering fat at least 8 times so far.  It reminds me of Beowulf where they’ll say “stout-hearted Beowulf” or something similar to make the meter correct.
12 thoughts on “Home Gym and World War II

  1. Install another light in the garage?

    Follow-up reading to the WW2 book: Churchill’s Memoirs, which should take you around 2 years if you’re an unusually fast reader and handle bloviation well.

  2. Qs:

    1) How do you feel about the quality/sturdiness of the rack? Is it moving at all when you rack/unrack your weights, either forward back or laterally? Any hesitation about it as your squat gets toward 500?

    2) How’s the knurling on the barbell? Any problem low barring without center knurling?

    3) width of adidas bench compared to your normal gym fare, or even to a competition bench? Sounds like my wife will like the height, though it might be tough for me with long legs) but I’m not that tall overall so whatever)

    4) Horse Stall mats offer any muffling/padding or just a nice even surface? I’m still iffy on deadlifting at home. Also, I assume you are just lifting on the mats. Any give or how do they compare to a solid floor?

    Last, I’d say 100% contact amazon about the plates, both the bent one and the one that’s way off on weight. Dunno if they’ll do anything about the one that is off, but they should replace the taco’d one.

    Unrelated to that, are you interested in a less “OK USA” and more serious treatment of the third reich? Shirer gets good marks(lolisthatapun?) on a broad introduction but generally lacks rigor. Evan’s “third reich trilogy” is usually compared very favorably to it, but it is 3 books. They’ll run you $45 new, or like, 30 cents used lol(ok maybe 10 bucks). I haven’t read it, but my dad has them.

    • new post addresses your questions.

      i’ll check your recommendation but why is 3rd reich “Okay USA” I’m on page 850 or so and he’s mentioned the US like a half-dozen times: Roosevelt is naive, Nazis believe US is controlled by Jewish freemasons, Hitler thinks the US won’t be able to re-arm until 1970 or 1980, the German embassy encourages isolationism – but tells Berlin not to send any (more) secret agents, & etc.

      Or do you mean that it’s lightweight? Hell it’s way more in depth than anything I’ve ever read before on WW2. (Which admittedly is mostly Wikipedia, and the Time-Life series when I was in high school, and the instruction book for Axis&Allies)

  3. Very cool, glad you like the equipment. Erik Larson wrote a book titled, “In the Garden of Beasts” which chronicles US Ambassador William Dodd’s tenure from 1933-37 in Hitler’s new Berlin. Very interesting account. Larson is one of my favorite history writers.

Leave a Reply

