California Couple

Need to train hard as Sohart is catching up to my squat while also more successfully looking like a professional wrestler.


Talked to the Swedish guy again.  His name is Hector, which made me suspicious that he was perhaps an impostor.  To test him, I mentioned “Lyffta pa Jobbet” and he said “Oh, lifting on the job!”


Some couple from California is visiting.  I talked to them 6 months or so ago because they appeared to be powerlifters (they both were wearing chucks).  Now I don’t talk to anybody, and the first day I just ignored them, hoping they would not remember me.  They’re maybe 30?  Guy is about 6′ tall, bit of a belly, 220 wt class.  He was benching 275 for a few reps.  IIRC he said he deadlifted like 500 or 550 or something.  Girl is like 5’2, hispanic and/or asian, and cute, but a little chubbly.  Not bad, tho.  Not very strong even for a chick.

But on the second day (Sat), the guy wanted to squat in the rack, and I let him work in.  He remembered me as the guy who squatted every day.  He is starting Smolov on Monday.   He showed me the Smolov app on his phone.  He’d plugged in his max squat, 465, and it calculates all the sets and reps.  That day he worked up to 315 for 4 sets of 6, and it didn’t look so easy.  I have a feeling next Friday will be interesting for him (85% = 395×5) but I think they’ll be back in Cali.

I also am foolishly going to the gym Monday AM even though I know they will be there, and I may have to use the half-rack, or work in with him.  I don’t think I really like them.  I don’t like anybody.  But I’m glad they haven’t fallen in with Andy and George yet, so there’s that.


Saturday

Wt: 181

LBS: up to 445; 415x8x1

Bench: up to 350; 325×2,2,1,1,1,1,1,2 (11)

Sumo+lite: 4 sets, all PRs, up to 330 off 3.5″ deficit

Time: 2:10 wasted a lot of time by sharing that rack and hearing about Smolov.


Sunday

Wt: 180.2

LBS: up to 450; 415x14x1 (if rack time is limited tomorrow, may use 420 for volume)

BTN press: up to 165; 150×2,1,1,1,1 (6)

Sumo+avg: 6 sets, all PRs, up to 300 off 2.5″ deficit

Time: 2:10

16 thoughts on “California Couple

  1. noone but pretentious people name their kids “hector” (or heKtor as it is usually spelled here). could be his parents are just filthy rich, though. good with the test. ask him about his opinions on jan björklund and the language tests for immigrants. might be a fun discussion. 🙂

  2. Now you make me regret chopping off my hair the day before I took that video because then I could have actually looked like a pro wrestler. Coincidentally, after 10 years of not watching I just got back into it in December. I used to have a huge beard too. Maybe you really are my dad.

    • That’s spot on. I have a bit of all those conditions.
      Just a bit, cause I’m just minor league. Try these guys: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gnaa

      Also, try this:
      Coach trolling Dirty Dave on mopility = 100 Grief Points
      Total Grief Inflicted = 100

      Dave leaving obscene and threatening comments on multiple blogs = 1 GP x 25
      Dave continuing to trace Coach’s whereabouts = 10 GP
      Dave leaving comments on Coach’s blog with a different email address each time, requiring Coach to manually approve them = 0.5 GP x 200
      Total Grief Inflicted = 135

      looks like you’re winning…

Leave a Reply

