Advice from Wo Bist Du

Me: You’re awesome, man.  I want to get into Olympic lifting.

Wo: Thanks.  What are your lifts right now?

Me: I can clean and jerk 100 kilos, snatch 45.  That’s pretty good, right?  I mean, I’m all natural.  I’m 36 years old.  I just started though.  Last week I could only snatch 40 kg.  So I’m improving a lot.

Wo: You probably need some work on your tech…

Me: Yeah, I can back squat 225.  In the gym.  In a meet I’ve done 215.  That’s more than you, right?

Wo: Well, you squat low-bar, and most Olympic…

Me: Yeah, Mark Rippetoe says that Olympic lifters should squat low bar.  You should give it a try.  Hey, do you ever do Klokov presses?

Wo: Um…

Me: Those are great for the shoulders.  How many times a week do you bench?

Wo: I don’t really…

Me: If I start doing Olympic lifting I’m still gonna bench 4x a week.  I don’t want to get unbalanced, you know?

You see how fucking annoying that would be?

Today I had a similar conversation with “Medhi” in the locker room.  He’s 5’9, 155 lbs and shows no visible signs of having ever exercised, despite spending at least 90 minutes 5x a week in the gym.  Thin arms and pot belly.

He asked me about my diet.  His diet is egg whites for breakfast and a salad for lunch and another salad for dinner.  He said he was trying to “eat a more plant-based diet” but when I asked him if he was a vegetarian, he said definitely not.  So I recommended that he should eat his egg yolks and eat more protein.  I said he didn’t need 1g/lb if he wasn’t doing heavy weight training (I wouldn’t call what he does “heavy”, “weight”, or “training”, but that’s another topic) but he should definitely eat more if he was trying to build some muscle/get stronger (I assume that’s his goal, and I feel that’s a safe assumption, since he asked me and not one of the cardio bunnies or crossfitters). Instead he started telling me a bunch of shit about cholesterol in egg yolks, and how he’s not sure if he needs more protein, and blah blah.  I’ll send him over to you, Celica.


Weight: 191.0 (-1.2)

Manta Ray Squat: 45×6, 135×4, 225×3, 315, 345, 355, 365, 375; 280x3x3, 280×4, 280x3x3, 280x2x4

Volume: 8400

BTN Press: 45×6, 95×3, 125×2, 144, 154, 159, 164, 169; 120x7x3

Volume: 2520

Sumo+light band: 8 sets, all PRs, up to 335 off 1.5″ deficit

Been trying something new, which is too annoying to describe, other than I don’t spend as long setting up, and instead just drop, grab the bar and stand the fuck up.  Who would have thought that this would make me more explosive and stronger? 

Time: 1:50

18 thoughts on “Advice from Wo Bist Du

  1. The dude I helped fix his deadlift up is Pakistani. He’s like 5’7 or 5’6 but weighs 170 like me. He says his dieting problem is he drinks too much beer.

    Also today you’ll be proud to know I ate 159g protein, 2977 calories (but only 58g of fat) and I weighed 172.5lbs this morning with no breakfast.

  2. Everyone wants to talk, no one wants to do.

    “thanks for the advice bro, really means a lot to me. But im gunna disregard everything you say and keep on doing my mediocre bullshit. thanks though srs.”

  3. So I watched the first three episodes of attack on titan yesterday. Not sure what the big deal is. But it’s short so I’ll keep watching.

    • haha you’ve been reading back posts or have a good memory. It gets better, IMO, and I wish they would make more eps. i was enjoying bbc sherlock but the eps i downloaded have no subtitles and cause I’m nearly deaf my wife got annoyed that the tv was that loud so she just watched them by herself and I quit

      • I started Attack on Titan back when I was sick, but no longer had time for it when I went back to my normal schedule, so I’m only like seven or eight eps in. Apparently the manga that it’s an adaptation of isn’t finished either, so there’s a good chance of more episodes being made after the manga gets far enough ahead again. Now as for how long we’ll have to wait to get them in the US is a different question altogether…

Leave a Reply

