Gossip and Controversy

At the meet, Porter said to me “That guy [Wolverine] is wearing a deadlift suit.  I don’t know if he plans to take it off before his first attempt or what.  But you can’t lift in that in the raw division!”

Now it looked to me that he was wearing the same singlet he’d been wearing all day.  But I have been at meets in this fed where folks in the raw division wear some singlets that look pretty suspicious.  It has never concerned me because they all were like 275 lbs or women.  Or both.

Anyhow, I’d been talking to Wolverine before Porter told me this, and when I went back over, I asked him, as nonchalantly as I could, “So is that like a special deadlift singlet?”

“No, man,” Wolverine said.  “It’s just a regular singlet.”  And to prove it, he pulled on it to show how loose and stretchy it was.  And then we went on talking as before.

Now, according to PJ, Porter has filed a complaint with the federation that Wolverine was wearing groove briefs under his singlet.  (I think that’s what the complaint was – PJ doesn’t powerlift, so his actual words were like “he was sayin’ he had some kind of suit on underneath”)

Supposedly, as evidence, Porter submitted a video of him squatting, saying that his posture was impossible to achieve without artificial means.  I’ve watched the video and it does not seem out of the ordinary to me except that he’s using a ridiculous weight.

I doubt the fed will overturn the squat.  Partly because feds like to have records that bring them attention.  But more importantly because there’s no proof.  (Also keep in mind that PJ told me this and he may be unreliable.  Although I can’t think of a time when he’s lied to me – he’s more erratic and tempramental than dishonest)

Porter was supposedly the assistant meet director.  Why didn’t he just accuse Wolverine at the meet (like I did).  Give the guy a chance to prove himself on the spot: 

Q: Are you wearing groove briefs/jet packs/anti-gravity belt?

A: No.  See? 

Q: My bad.  You’re just strong

A: No hard feelings.

Instead of waiting 3 days and now how do you prove you weren’t wearing groove briefs

You could say it’s because he didn’t notice anything till he watched the video a million times like the Zapruder film.  But clearly he had his questions at the meet.

BTW: From the video and from what Wolverine told me, you can see that he puts the bar low on his back but sits down (not back) and pushes his knees out.


Low Bar Squat: 45×6, 45bx4, 135×3, 225×2, 275, 315, 355, 375, 385, 395, 405; 255,260,265,270,275×3, 275,280,285,290,295,300×2, 305×3

TSV: 8340

notes: 1) resetting weights on squats means I can bold things 2) this was a pretty hard workout because of soreness which has now spread to my other hamstring 3) I’m back to using the bands between my calves but not going crazy like before 4) new way to log total squat volume is just weight x reps (255×3 + 260×3 +…etc)

DB Bench: 25×25, 30×30, 35×35, 40×40

BTN Press: 45×6, 95×3, 115×2, 135, 145, 155; 115x4x3

155 was hard

Sumo Deadlift+light band: 4 easy sets that weren’t easy, up to 260 off 3.5″ deficit

RDL: 45×5, 95×5, 115×5

good for stretching, will do good mornings again tomorrow i think

Time: 2 hrs

9 thoughts on “Gossip and Controversy

  1. That’s really fucking shitty. Not only will nothing come out of the appeal, but it’ll make the fed look bad and disorganized. Old men should not be involved in sports, except maybe as honorary members or on some bullshit committee.

    • if it is true (that porter appealed) I imagine it consisted of an email to the fed director, gene rylchak who will watch the video, and roll his eyes. He’ll email Jimmy the meet director. Jimmy will send back the email equivalent of a sideways glance at Porter while revolving his finger around his ear. And that will be it. If need be, I’ll email gene/jimmy and testify that W was wearing a singlet and not a fucking suit, but I doubt that this will be necessary.

Leave a Reply

