Ruby Poop

Poopington has obtained the gold, silver, and bronze poops.  Now he must quest to obtain the diamond, emerald, and ruby poops.

Rex: And redstone.

Me: Ruby is a red stone.

Rex: No, in Minecraft there’s ruby and redstone.


Weigh-ins are the day before the meet, and I got an email saying that you could weigh in from 9-11, or from 5-7.  Which is some bullshit.  I mean I guess I will just get up at 7 and start cutting and make it by 11, but I’d hate to be a quarter pound over and then not be able to eat until 5 PM.  I thought about emailing Jimmy the meet director back to whine.  Instead I spoke to Porter about it.  And after saying incredulously and annoyingly “TEN POUNDS?!” when I told him how much I was cutting (really 8, hopefully), he said he would be able to weigh me in if I didn’t make it by 11. 

I don’t understand why the schedule change bc Porter and Jimmy will both probably be on hand all day.  Yes, setting up, but how hard is it to take a 3 minute break to check a guy’s weight on a digital scale.  I just want to make it by 11 and there not to be an issue/not to owe a favor to Porter.  If you think I’m a petulant, belligerant little asshole now you should see me cutting weight.


Weight: 190.4

Manta Ray Squat: 45×5, 135×4, 225×3, 275, 315, 355, 365

LBS: 225×2, 315, 405×1,1, 425×1; 385×2

Not a good day.  425 felt light the 1st time.  Thought I’d left a 10 off one side.  Left it off both sides.  Real 425 was harder.  Cut volume a little short so I wouldn’t have to superset squat and deadlift sets.

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×6, 145×4, 195×3, 245×3, 295×2, 315, 335; 310×3

Sumo Deadlift:

5″ 135×2

4″ 225×1

3″ 315×1

1.5″ 405×1

0″: 455, 485, 495

Never have I been so unthrilled by a 15 lb deadlift PR.  Fatman was right about over-under grip, it did not help.  Pulled 495 hook.

IDK it was a pretty bad day all around so that’s something.  Could have sat on my ass for several more attempts and pulled an ugly 510, probably.  I’m good for it.And should get 25-30 lbs out of the switch to a better bar at the meet so that’s something too.

Overall I’m happy with my sumo and happy with my latest version of deadlift training.  I might not pull mega-weights at the meet bc I started sumo too late, but I feel that my current system is sustainable.

Cable Row: 1 set

Time: 1:50


It’s funny how a lot can change based on my meet performance.  It could even affect you.  If I total lower/the same as my last meet will I quit powerlifting, take up bodybuilding and become the next Mr. Veinz?  If I total a little higher, will I admit my folly, become a cynic like Fatman, and a mega-mope?  If I total much higher, will I become* insufferably conceited, alienating my internet friends?  Who knows what direction this blog will take?

21 thoughts on “Ruby Poop

  1. Never pulled sumo before. Seeing as how you have been pulling sumo in preparation for the meet can I assume people can pull more sumo than conventional, at least depending on body type?

    Also, if there are 3 things Laurie Nguyen likes they’re lifting weights, food storage, and chewing gum…and she’s about out of gum.

    • idk, the record deadlifts are all conventional.

      i just was desperate at having about a 500 lb conv deadlift for the last 15 years

      i left a comment on her page that it looked like she’d been doing food storage in her face but i’m sure it will be moderated.

  2. idk about that last paragraph man, but I’m winedrunk right now and I read your blog every day so just keep on doing what you’re doing

    • thx for reading and it’s semi-serious drivel. i don’t really have strong mope feelz like some of these guys who pour their hearts out (cough, sid, unrealized, 7year, etc)

  3. I read this blog 99% for the stories, 1% for quickly reading over your training.

    Just wait until the end of May when I go on a all-protein crash diet for 3-4 weeks. I’m going to freak out.

  4. “If you think I’m a petulant, belligerant little asshole now you should see me cutting weight.”

    I’ll be following closely.

    “If I total lower/the same as my last meet will I quit powerlifting, take up bodybuilding and become the next Mr. Veinz? If I total a little higher, will I admit my folly, become a cynic like Fatman, and a mega-mope? If I total much higher, will I become* insufferably conceited, alienating my internet friends?”

    Stop lying to yourself. The only reason you’re powerlifting is so you can spend three hours at the gym, taking up the rack and platform forever, patiently waiting for someone to approach you with some inane question so you can unleash torrential anger and abuse on them. You’re like the praying mantis of the power rack.

    • haha you won’t see it bad because i’m not going to post in between bouts of soaking in a hot tub.

      and you basically nailed it man.
      only beg to differ that i don’t think i ever spend longer than 2.5 hrs
      also, a preying mantis is a woman that kills the husband.
      i’m like one of those dung beetles that builds traps or something.
      not too keen on my entomology but better than you

      what do you call it when you know the argument is sound but nitpick it to death as a defense? 🙂

      • Eh, I’d say you meet the parameters for a male Praying Mantis, as well, at least as far as predatory tactics go. I wouldn’t say you aren’t one, just because you haven’t been eaten by Karena. Yet…

Leave a Reply

