Gossip Girls

PJ told me today (as part of a normal conversation, not OMG bro, you gotta hear this), that for the past few months, Porter has been randomly asking him, “Don’t you think [Ruin] is overtraining?”

At first I was kind of mad and wanted to “quit” the “team” but then I realized that I talk shit about Porter all the time, both online and at the gym.  So will just drive on.

Told my wife, and she said “You all act like a bunch of 16 year old girls”


Took the kids outside to play ball.  Throwing a nerf basketball back and forth with my son while my daughter toddles around aimlessly.  Rex throws the ball into this, idk how to describe it, we call it a pit, it’s sort of like a ravine that is 10 feet lower than everything else.  It has steep sides but not unclimbable and there’s a lot of bushes and crap on the side.  So, keeping an eye on Quincy, I lower Rex into the pit so he can get the ball (This happens all the time: I either help pull him out or make him walk the long way up the less steep side depending on if he did it on purpose)

Quincy ambles over – not real close to the edge – and like I said, I’m watching her intently.  She suddenly trips by this log.  Not on the log, which would make sense, but exactly 1’7″ or however tall she is away from the log, so that her face hits it.  Gets a scrape by her eye and starts crying.

I pick her up and she cries for a few more seconds, then stops.  She didn’t seem very bothered by it but now she has a pretty good black eye and my wife has been calling me “Worst Father Ever” for the whole day.  Baby has a doctor’s appointment tomorrow (unrelated, just a checkup) so that should be good.


Weight: 191.8 (+1) bullshit since i ate real clean yesterday after the candy frenzy.  scale must be broken

MRS: 45×5, 135×4, 225×3, 275×2, 315, 345, 365

LBS: 225×2, 315, 365, 405, 430, 440, 450, 460; 355,360,365,370,375,380×2

things getting a little better, finally

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×6, 145×4, 195×3, 245×3, 295×2, 325, 340; 305x3x3

Sumo+monster band: 11 sets up to 400 from the floor.

9 thoughts on “Gossip Girls

  1. I think PJ is trying to start shit between you and Porter. He probably goes to Porter and tells him how you said his lifters are undertraining and that he’s a shitty coach.

  2. I think Mr. Christmas is overtraining. Says the man who’s going to take the week off from lifting and go finish painting his fences, plant things, swim, and go for nice walks in the park.

    • if someone (besides my buddies) really questions me about it, i usually respond with Broz clichés like “you don’t get better at something by doing less of it” like I was squatting 135 6 months ago.

  3. Also when I was like 10 I rode my bike into a concrete wall going down a hill, flipped over the handlebars, and on to a bunch of bushes.

    I turned out fine.

  4. it’s kind of a pattern of abuse bc when my son was 1 or so, he was sitting on the couch playing some toddler video game (big plastic thing that goes across his lap & interacts with the TV). I was right in the room putting away DVDs. Well he was well nestled into the couch and only a few feet away, but in the space of like 2 milliseconds, he dropped the controller on the floor and then toppled forward while trying to recover it and hit his head on the floor and also got a black eye. Otherwise he was fine. That time i didn’t instantly tell my wife (she was at the store). When she got back i kinda hoped she wouldn’t notice. She noticed.

  5. The Great Dane we had when I was born (who was super protective of my mom) apparently tried to eat me when nobody was looking. The first year of my life was a harrowing time.

Leave a Reply

