The cycle of delusions

1. Choose a new exercise that you think will help your lifts.

2. Start light.

3. Perform it everyday, adding a small amount of weight each time.

4. Do preposterous calculations.

If I benched 300 lbs today and add 5 pounds every day, let’s see…carry the one… at the meet, I’ll bench 1250.

5. Know this is not true but figure you’ll still hit a really big number.

6. Exercise starts to get really hard.

7. Get stapled, or your form is atrocious.

8. Go to step one.

The really crazy thing is that this has actually worked for some exercises (sumo deadlift, floor press, maybe RDL or snatch grip DL if I had kept at it.)


Weight: 188.4 (-1.0)

MRS: 45×5, 135×4, 185×3, 235×2, 285, 315, 335, 355, 370

LBS: 225×2, 315, 365, 405, 415; 325,330×2, 335×3

the cycle begins anew

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×5, 145×4, 195×3, 245×2, 295, 315, 330, 340, 350; 305×3,3

nice

Sumo Deadlift: 10 sets, up to 480 off 0.5″ deficit.  The hardest thing is the hook grip.  I’m sure when I switch to over-under, I’ll be shocked that I’m out of practice and it is not much easier.  Or rip a bicep

Pretty pleased with the day, overall.  Gotta fix my camera/buy a new one.

Time: 1:55

7 thoughts on “The cycle of delusions

  1. Over-under won’t be easier than hook grip. It doesn’t make holding the bar easier, and the mechanics of the lift change a lot… for the worse.

    With the hook grip, you are able to get your body into the most efficient pulling position possible. It’s like using straps – you pull more with straps not because your grip is weak, but because your body is ideally set to pull a weight off the ground.

    If you’re able to hook grip (I’m not), stick with it all the way to the meet. My $0.02.

    • > It’s like using straps – you pull more with straps not because your grip is
      > weak, but because your body is ideally set to pull a weight off the ground.

      Lel.

      But yeah I don’t see the benefit of over under unless you can’t hook (other than tearing a bi and then not being able to gym for ever). Some people have supposedly fucked up their thumbs with the hook grip, but mine is mostly ok. Like the day after DL the first time I press on a certain spot i get a funny feeling and then it goes away. Also I can see very faint whitish lines that were caused by each DL session and grow out and disappear about halfway up my thumb. But I’m not pulling ruhdikalus weight, so maybe with a 500+ DL your thumb will cease to exist.

Leave a Reply

