Volume Explained

Jackacactus writes:

Do you have any particular percentage you do for the volume sets or do you just pick something that seems reasonable?

Here are some thoughts on volume:

1. Broz recommends 30 reps, and in extreme examples as many as 50.  However, he may be including single attempts and warmup sets over 80% in these figures (I don’t).  He says to drop down 20-30 kg and work back up if possible.

2. I just don’t have time to do that many.  For example, if I benched 365 that day and wanted to use 315 for volume, to get 30 reps, I’d be doing 15×2, or 10×3.  Either of which I think I could achieve, it would just take me another hour in the gym. 

3. What I keep track of is two numbers for each exercise.  The lowest weight that I use for volume*, and the number of total volume reps.  E.G. if I bench …365; 315×2, 320×2, 325×2, 330×1, 315×3, then my lowest weight is 315 and my number of reps is 10. 

*The only exception is that I like to do a couple of lighter manta ray squats to get my groove back and I don’t count those at all. 

4. I try to beat either or both of those numbers.  This tends to results in me doing less volume with higher %.  Because I see 315×20 as my record on bench, lets say, and think, UGH.  Or I need to go home early that day.  I can just go to 320 and do a few and beat that record. 

That said, there was not much volume done today.


Weight: 191.4 (-1.2)  love losing weight after a filthy cheat meal/weekend

HBS: 45×5, 135×3, 185×2, 235, 275, 315, 340, 365, 375

High bar squat is a fun warmup for low bar squat. The sole difference between high bar squat and manta ray squat for me seems to be that high bar squat makes my traps hurt.  So tomorrow, I’ll plop on the ray both before and after

LBS: 405, 425, 445

Could blame rushing with 20 lb jumps instead of 10.  But instead I’ll blame Fatman.  Even his encouragement is toxic 🙂

MRS: 225, 315, 345, 370x2x1

External factor was 370 was heavy, and the fat old guy didn’t ask me to use the rack, so I let him use it.  He is up to 185, which whatever, he looks like he learned from Starting Strength; he’s in terrible-looking shape; and he started working out on New Years with 135, so good for him.  He’s still a little wary of me after our encounter a few weeks ago.

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×6, 145×4, 195×3, 245×2, 275×2, 305, 315, 325, 335; 305×3

335 is the most I’ve gotten since doing this the day after benching instead of the day before.  I’ll take a 375 bench and a 335 floor press over a 345 floor press and 345 bench, btw.

Sumo+Monster bands: 10 sets, up to 385 from half-inch deficit.  Good bar speed, only 2-3 minutes rest between sets.  Ran out of water close to the end and didn’t feel like walking to water fountain for refill, consequently felt a little nauseous at the end.

Chinups: 2×8

Time: 2 hrs.

8 thoughts on “Volume Explained

  1. oh, and by the way, this is the same guy: https://ruinchristmas.wordpress.com/2014/02/04/damn-it-feels-good-to-be-a-gangsta/#comment-685

    my super-friendly buddy let him work in, buddy was squatting 365-405, fatso was squatting 145, they both loaded and unloaded the plates and had friendly conversation.

    so now instead of asking how many sets I have left, he just mopes around and does dumbbell bench until i charitably allow him to use my rack.

    told you I’d outlast that fucker.

  2. So, in case anyone cares, I didn’t die. Had to do my PR 5×5 squats at a xfit box down here in Florida. It went fine, but I felt like a serious goober with those big ass bumpers they use, loading up 305 and doing super ugly 5 rep sets. Didn’t fail, or even come real close, but the last rep or two of each set was super ugly. Kind of pissed at myself over that.

  3. I didn’t go to Crossfit box when I went to Florida. Now I just am not going to Florida. Maybe next vacation I will visit Mr. Christmas in Texas and we can lift.

  4. Thanks for the explanation. And that Damien Pezzuti dude you posted (at least I think it was you… I can’t find the post now) is a beast. I think after I stop making progress on what I’m doing now I’m gonna give the Broz business a shot.

  5. “The sole difference between high bar squat and manta ray squat for me seems to be that high bar squat makes my traps hurt.”

    My traps sometimes hurt from the Manta Ray, never from HBS.

Leave a Reply

