Carbs for the win.

Everything was going well today.  Could be the large amount of carbs and sweets I ate while at my parents house.  We’ll see the damage when I get on the scale tomorrow morning.

Low Bar Squat: 45×5, 135×5, 225×3, 285×3, 345×3, 370×2, 395×2, 415, 425, 435, 445

Here’s my 445 squat (is it high, idk, it’s close) and also 425 the other day with some old nerd walking right in front of me.  He was getting those armpit straps people who can’t hold onto the bar use to do leg raises.  I remain outwardly unperturbed.  In his defense, I walked right behind him while he was squatting 165 a third of the way down with his knees knocking together. 

As a humorous side note, instead of knee raises, he put his arms through the armpit things, slid the large carabiners at the other end over the ends of an EZ-curl bar, then did Yates rows while holding onto the straps right above the carabiners.  Why he did this is anybody’s guess.

Manta Ray Squat: 305x8x2

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×4, 135×3, 175×3, 215×3, 255×3, 285×2, 305×2, 315, 325, 335, 345; 295×2,3

Sumo Deficit “Speed” Pulls: 8 sets, all PRs, up to 430 lbs @ 0.5″ deficit

My old coach showed me a different way of doing band pulls.  Instead of using short bands, which don’t come into play until the bar is already off the ground, he used a regular band under one foot, twisted it over the bar, then under the other foot, to get tension right away.  I was unable to replicate this today because I didn’t pay close enough attention and now need to email him.

Time: 2 hrs

9 thoughts on “Carbs for the win.

Leave a Reply

