Payback Time

Pretty cool day.  Got 8 hours of sleep last night which did wonders. 

Also Andy was there and – thrilled with how I cherbed his gf the other day – he helped me with my sumo deadlift form.  He advised keeping my toes out even more, starting with the bar an inch from my shins rather than right next to them, then pushing my hips forward before I started to pull.  These things may sound odd because of my limited descriptive powers, but I gotta say they really helped.

He also said I had a good body type for sumo, that my hips were super flexible, and that I had good explosiveness.  I’ll take those compliments and use them for their placebo effect.

He also showed me where a hidden supply of floor mats are kept.  They are half inch thick mats.  One or more for deficit sumos (don’t make your feet slip like 45s) and a big stack for block pulls (the rack is too narrow for anyone taller than Emma to do sumo pin pulls) Great.  So now, combined with the bands, I have 923574 more possible ways to do sumo deadlifts without getting stronger at actual sumo deadlifts.


Weight: 194.4 (+1.4)

ate real clean today, hopefully it helps.

Manta Ray Squat: 45×4, 135×3, 225×2, 275, 315, 335, 355, 365, 370, 375, 380, 385; 360, 375x3x1, 375×2

Box Squat 9″: 135×2, 185, 225, 265, 275

Box Squat 11″: 315, 355

(i think, once again, one height is enough per day for now on)

TSV: 375×13

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×4, 135×3, 175×2, 205, 235, 260, 280, 295, 305, 315, 320; 270x5x3

reasonably pleased with this performance, though not a PR

Sumo Deficit Deadlift (2 mats = 1″): 135×3, 205×2, 275, 325, 345, 355, 365

5 thoughts on “Payback Time

  1. Sounds like you made a legit real life friend. Good work buddy. Also, how does it feel to be the frontrunner for replacing MopeilityWod? Handling the pressure ok? Brent has been busy with this
    http://www.dallasstrengthandconditioning.com/about.html I imagine he won’t be making a comeback. Also, this weekend I watched this, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UTSf3XAP-E8
    It’s all about crazy people dedicating enormous amounts of time to get into the guiness book of records. For some reason I thought of you when the joggler’s wife complained about him training for two plus hours a day at a silly pursuit that generates no income.

    • good brett find/stalk. I was meaning to ask someone to check his facebook.

      it feels pretty good to be the front runner but also pretty sad. kind of like my life. also have some guilt, like did you go over there with your loud mouth and inferior blog and ruin everything again. wish he would come back. I’d rather be the #1 supplementary mope.

      and yeah, i’m the juggler. partly do it to get out of the house. i’m a great family man.

    • Lol at qualified for 2012 American open and 300lb bodyweight. Glad he is still alive and has a sense of humour. Had to try and explain to wife why the wording on that was funny enough to make me laugh out loud. (he qualified, travelled, entered, and slept in to miss weigh ins?)

      • Mobile page sucks. Made it look like Blunt’s stats but those were actually Chris’s and it makes sense and makes it seem less like Bront was being funny.

      • Lol. Was your wife like, “what the fuck are you talking about?” I bet she loves it when you talk to her about stupid weight lifting shit.

Leave a Reply

