Young Norwegians

Tomorrow I’m going to visit my parents.  This means I’ll train at the sports training facility where I used to work.  The bars will be better, and…hmm, that’s about the only good thing.  Lot of drama, having to spot/encourage people, having to stay for 4 hours, and things being in general, different.  Also have to drive about 8 hours tomorrow in total before I lift.  Should be fun.  Also having this conversation with my mother when I get home:

Mom: You’re leaving already?  You just got here.

Me: I have to go to train.  Powerlifting practice is starting in a few minutes.

Mom: Can’t you take a day off?

Me:  No. I have to defend my state title.* 

Mom: It just would be nice if you could stay and eat dinner with the rest of the family.

Me: Well I can’t tonight.  Is Vin (my brother) coming for dinner?

Mom: No, he has jiu-jitsu practice tonight.  He has a big tournament coming up.

*Yes I have a meaningless state title.  No I don’t think about it like that, but it helps my family comprehend the monumental importance of what I do.


Manta Ray Squat: 45×4, 135×3, 225×2, 275, 315, 350, 365, 380, 385, 390; 370×1,1,1,1,2,1p

Partial Squat #11: 405, 455, 495, 530, 550

TSV: 370×12

Proud of myself for both kinds of shitty squats.  Legs were sore today and felt chewed up in general.

DB Bench: 30×30, 35×35, 40×20,25, 45×25

Military Press: 45×7, 95×3, 135×2, 175×1, 190; 140×3,3,3,3,4

from the hang clean.  wouldn’t have been much better from the rack.  would have done floor press or even bench today, but this way I can do heavy bench & slingshot tomorrow when i have plenty of spotters.

Sumo with Average Bands: 135(nb)x3, 135, 145, 155, 165, 170

This is a lot of band tension.  Did them today because they came in the mail and I wanted to try them.  Also, as above, want to have a good sumo performance on a bar with knurling where it is supposed to be.

Machine Row: 2 sets

Lat Pulldown: 1 set

Pullthroughs: 1 set

Time: 1:40

Called it quits a little early.  Tomorrow is gonna suck.

23 thoughts on “Young Norwegians

    • #1 because you do jerks all the time. and I bench all the time.

      also i have no idea what the “right technique” for military press is, compared to bench press which I am somewhat a student of.

      third i kind of do it as a fucking-around exercise between “real” (bench) presses. give it a shot. oh well, no 190. but yeah, the most i ever got i think is 200.

      • I thought you read Charnaga? He says jerks to presses don’t real. (But regularly holding 300+ lbs over my head may have some carryover…)
        70s Big actually has pretty good press vids, for an idea of what you might be doing wrong.
        One of these days I’m going to max my bench, just to see what my PL total might be… Better be close to a 1,200lb.

          • 200’s my last max. It wasn’t easy, but it was after repping 176 to failure for three sets (5, 5, 3), so I’ve definitely got more. (All my maxes lately are at the tail end of a workout, after already doing a buncha work. What is wrong with me.)

          • Here are some observations I’ve had about OH pressing in general:

            – Seated behind-the-neck presses have some carryover to the BP, but only if done for higher reps and lower weight.

            – Standing front military presses don’t do much for my bench. They are different lifts.

            – The standing front press to me is much like the deadlift: some days I feel great, work up to a weight I’ve hit easily before and the bar refuses to move. Then I’ll try it on a shitty day and set a PR. Lifting voodoo.

            – I can maintain my standing front press by doing only BTN and bench presses. In 2012 I did little to no front pressing and in November I hit an easy 225 lb. FP and narrowly missed 245, which would have been a 5-pound PR.

            – My standing FP improved most when I was doing 5/3/1. Granted, I’d never trained it seriously before and when I started it had nowhere to go but up.

            – Here’s a real mystery: for a while I trained the FP either as a separate exercise, or as the first lift on a second benching day. Then I switched to doing a few sets after bench pressing (i.e. in a fatigued state). I could handle the same (or almost the same) weights fatigued as I could fresh?

            – Never did clean&jerks, so can’t comment on the carryover. I wouldn’t think there’s much, though, isn’t pressing the weight up a penalty in lifting?

            – I have seen guys who were strong at the OH press, but mediocre or even weak at the bench press, and not due to lack of training. When it comes to the OH press, long arms aren’t necessarily a massive disadvantage like in the BP, as long as you have long upper arms, or something.

          • excellent thoughts. i agree about the arm length being not as much of a factor. though didn’t want to say it as coming from me, it would be like a juicer saying that steroids don’t make a difference.
            also about it being a somewhat mysterious lift like the deadlift where some days you got it and other times it won’t budge from the floor/off your shoulders.

          • You mean as long as you don’t have long upper arms, right? I’d think long upper arms would screw your shoulder leverages…

            And, yeah, pressing out = three red lights. Jerks may do something for the shoulders, though. I’m pressing more than I ever have before, but I’m missing weights differently than when I used to bench a bunch: I used to not be able to get a miss past my forehead, but now, above my head is the sticking point, suggesting my shoulders are strong, and my triceps are weaker. Also, my delts have been getting a lot bigger, even before I started pressing again. (Pressing hits ’em harder, though.)

            For fatigued vs. fresh, I’m gonna theorize (completely unfounded on any science or fact) that, while your muscles might be fatigued compared to the weight you’re benching, you’re pressing a considerable amount less, so it doesn’t really affect your working with lighter weight? I don’t know if I’m communicating my idea coherently. It makes sense in my mind, in a visual sort of way, somehow, but there isn’t really a visual way to communicate it, so I’m just gonna throw this out there. It’s like, I’ve always felt that doing back squats doesn’t pre-fatigue front squats nearly as much as you’d think, just because, even if you worked to failure on back squats, it’s heavier than whatever you’re gonna be front squatting. Also different muscle emphasis. I dunno.

            Also, for press to bench carry-over, I’d say it comes down to the weights you’re moving. If you’re benching 350 and pressing 180, I don’t think your triceps or anterior delts are going to be stressed more pressing than benching. If the gap is closer, though, there may be some carry-over. It’s exactly like how Push-Presses (sometimes) carry over to bench because you can do it with weight closer to how much you actually bench.

            Not sure why BTN Presses carry over to the BP, though.

  1. Anyone got in recommendations for improving the press? I weigh 185 and my max press is 165. I did a SS linear progressions to get it from 95# 3×5 to a 135# 3×5. Then I did 5×3’s for awhile and got it to 145# but have stalled out. Someone on Brents blog (must be true) said volume is the key. I wasn’t sure if they meant volume as in low weight, high reps, low number of sets, or high weight, low reps, high number of sets. I give a shit about this lift as it has a good carryover into my work where I lift a lot of things overhead. I would like to get to 185# + for my max. Then I could die happy obviously. Right after I help some hot wives that will never touch me learn how to press too.

    • I think it was me who talked about volume, not from personal experience but as what I had been told. It was backed by a couple of people who are much better pressers than me tho. Of course, I literally just pressed 147.5 as a max(missed 150), so I obviously can’t speak from experience.

      When I was over 190, I hit 155. However, the programming I used does seem to work since I was predicted to hit the 147.5, so that’s good to know. Same basic linear periodization from andy baker that I’ve referenced before. In addition, I tend to add some sort of pressing for volume all three days I work out. I don’t know if it actually helped me hit the press max, but it’s had a positive impact on my shoulders and Tris.

      I’m also guessing if you are capable of benching(which I haven’t been for a while), you will have better results. I also have a short term goal of pressing 185, but that probably won’t be happening before next year.

    • 155 max press crew checking in. I’m of the opinion that at these weights you just need to do more pressing (i.e. more than 15 reps and all kinds of assistance work) and probably eat more, and if you actually want your press moving up, then focus on that instead of squats for a month or 2.

    • I would try to get at least 20 reps with “working weight” (so not counting warmups) per workout, maybe three days a week? Number of days will depend on your personal ability to recover. But some days this could be sets of five, other days it could be sets of ten, and you could even try twenty singles to get work in with heavier weight. Actually, this would be a good application for Prilepin’s Chart…

      Anyways, to be good at anything, you gotta do it a lot, that’s all.

      • I will second Wo’s recommendation for more frequency to drive the press. I probably press 2-3 days a week because am more likely to do it than bench. I lift alone in my basement and could bail a press without dying or engaging in some auto-not-erotic asphyxiation. In my case, a 190 lb press goes up quicker than a 250lb bench… I definitely don’t get 300lbs regularly overhead. I think my shoulders would tear like a piece of paper.

      • You guys think there’s a significant difference if you do a lot of volume at once versus spread through the week? Like if I do 45 reps one day(5×5 + 2×10 back off ) and 20 another, versus 20 reps 3x a week?

        • That’s kind of like the argument about high frequency versus doing a bodybuilder-type split. I like high frequency, just because it lets you work heavier, but this exchange has been going on since forever, and I think it just comes down to whatever works best for you.

  2. Also loved how Coach’s Mom was all like “do you really have to do that nonsense” when it came to his lifting, but “oh yeah, he’s excused, he has an important competition in a real sport” about the brother’s. 🙂

    • yup. my dad, brother, and brother’s gf run in a 5k every thanksgiving morning. It’s no problem.
      at least my family and in-laws came to my last PL meet. (They were all visiting anyway, the meet just happened to be that weekend “couldn’t you skip the gym for once?”) Still, I had like 13 personal fans (including babies), which set an international (raw, drug-tested) record.

      • 5k is 3 mi? “Just reminding you to keep the metric stuff in sweden and the olympic training halls.”

        Just an aside, but 5k is my favourite distance of race to run. You should dedicate some time, run it fast enough to crush them, and tell them it’s because of your lifting.

        • not worth it/possible. my dad runs like 22?? minutes but he’s 65. My brother is 5’7, 140 and runs like 18 min. I ran all the time in the army and could probably on my best day have run a 20 minute 5k, which was as fast as I could run when I was a shitty cross-country runner as a freshman/sophomore in HS.

          my favorite distance of race to run is the 40 yd dash. because it’s over quickly and my time is only a few seconds away from the world record.

          • “my favorite distance of race to run is the 40 yd dash. because it’s over quickly and my time is only a few seconds away from the world record.”

            Touché.

Leave a Reply

