Damn, It Feels Good to be a Gangsta

How many stupid blog posts have had this title in the history of blog posts?  Feel like I stole it from someone.


Alpha: All the weights listed are actually in kilos (except my bw).  Forgot to mention that.

Beta: I routinely exaggerate my lifts by up to 100 lbs.  Sometimes I make up entire workouts when I don’t even go to the gym.

Gamma: I’ve never lifted weights before in my entire life


Weight: 193.2 (-2.0)

Manta Ray Squat: 45×4, 135×3, 225×2, 315, 345, 355, 365, 370, 375, 380; 370x5x1

“Bottom”-Position Squat #9: 405, 495, 520, 530, 540

Could have done this motherfucker all day but some old guy in Oly WL shoes came in and wanted to use the rack.  He does some program that is squats/mil press/deadlifts.  Has good form at least.  I did my last set and yielded to him.  What I wanted to do was to kick him in the chest.  You fucking fuck, you don’t need to use a power rack to squat (literally) 100 lbs.  Smiled politely and asked if he wanted me to wipe the chalk off the bar.

Floor Press: 45×10, 95×4, 135×3, 175×2, 215, 255, 275, 295, 315, 325; 250,255×5, 260,265×4

I want to move from pressing 3.5 days a week to 4.  Tomorrow will be the light mil press and db bench bullshit and Thurs will be bench/slingshot again.  I slept with the slingshot on last night, btw.

Snatch Grip Deadlift: 135×3, 205, 275, 345, 415, 445, 470

Pretty hard & slooow but did not round my back at all, as this is next to impossible to do with this kind of deadlift.  I thought of you, Wo, as I did these.

RDL: 350x 4,4

Band Pulling

(yesterday did some half ass chinups and rows, forgot to mention)

Time: 2:15

9 thoughts on “Damn, It Feels Good to be a Gangsta

  1. Alpha would have bent old oly shoes over the power rack and stretched his balloon knot right there
    Beta would have smiled politely and asked if he wanted the chalk wiped off the bar
    Gamma would have survielled the guy for several months while slowly poisoning him and everyone around him
    Beta = socially and morally responsible action for the 21st century.

    • sort of agree but alpha doesn’t always = rage kill. For example when you go to buy a car the dealer doesn’t punch you in the face. He just gouges you for $5000 too much and then laughs about you later. This guy told me last week that this was his first time lifting in a year. I suspect that he will a) quit b) get hurt c) realize that at the exact same time every day there’s this hairy little troll who has 5 plates on the bar and he should choose another time to train. or try the half rack. I’ve outlasted many a geek in the past years. I have other passive-aggressive tricks as a last resort. Like giving him advice. Making old yuppies complain to the front desk is not the solution ever. Listen man I was an alpha-gammafor 2 hours and 15 minutes today. and then i woke up and went back to the real world where I am a fucking loser. But I got this, man.

  2. That’s a pretty badass snatch grip DL. I think my best was 100 lbs. lighter, and I used straps.

    You’ve been doing these for a while, how would you rate the carryover to your regular DL? Do you ever do regular DLs anymore?

    • thanx man. it’s funny, cause 470 was slow, i figured I’d work on my regular deadlifts for a while. But I’m gonna start by trying for 480 or so. Then moving up 5 lbs at a time. So I guess we’ll see. Very unscientific here.

Leave a Reply

