"My favorite body part to train is erectors."

Had lunch with the Russian chick who helped me translate some Sheiko material.  I had had hopes of using her to help me get in contact with and interview the actual Sheiko, thereby becoming the American authority on the subject – but he dashed these hopes by resurfacing.  I still think this is an elaborate hoax.


Missed Connection:

You are tall, blond, with a gut, wearing Olympic weightlifting shoes.  I was the bearded guy with simian aesthetics, wearing Chucks, beanie cap, Army shirt, giant shorts and tall socks who cheerfully asked if you wanted to use the power rack, then several minutes later, if you were planning on using the 45 lb bumpers.  You were surly and responded negatively both times.  I just want to be friends.  Your workout was deep, high-bar, paused squats for several sets of 135×3, then several sets of unpaused squats for 225×3.  Then several sets of front squats for 135×3.  Then doing something with your phone for several minutes.  (Reading mopeility?)  Suddenly you changed into regular sneakers, did several sets of DB hammer curls… and then departed.  Oh mystery man, it’s like you read yesterday’s blog post & comments, and wanted to fulfill my desires.  Or…were you sent by Wo just to tease me?


Weight: 195.8 (+1.6)  Fatman is right.  My weight training does not burn that many calories.

Manta Ray Squat: 45×4, 135×3, 225×2, 315, 355, 370, 385, 395; 345,350x1p, 355,360,365×1, 345×2, 350,355×1, 345×2

Low Box Squat: 135×2, 225, 315, 350, 375

DB Bench: 25,30,35,40 x 30

Mil Press: 45×5, 95×4, 135×3, 155×3

Tri Pushdown: 5 sets

Rope Pushdown: 1 set

RDL: 135×3, 205×2, 275, 345, 380, 405×2; 330×3

again, less than thrilled with that form.  Might just do Snatch grip DL every day for a single and volume RDL after.

Cable Row: 1 set

Lat Pulldown: 1 set

Shoulder Bands


When I have a free second I’m going to do something about this blog, my webpage, and my forum to try to make them more organized.  Maybe not the forum, I kind of like it as a disgusting monument to my vanity and worthlessness.


Fattaca – Thanks for the Charniga link.  I actually did skim through it before but I wasted a good amount of time rereading today.  He really hates John McCallum.  Okay, the get-big drink is ridiculous, but it’s a little unfair to place even the slightest blame on the guy for the failure of US weightlifting.  McCallum did not write for aspiring competitive weightlifters.  You can blame Hoffman for paying him.  Maybe.

8 thoughts on “"My favorite body part to train is erectors."

  1. If you use Myfitnesspal it tells you how many calories you burn for strength training. It’s roughly the same as working on a car. About 200ish an hour at 180lbs. Compared to ice skating which is like 500ish an hour.

  2. I don’t think Charniga’s beef with McCallum has that much to do with the latter’s writing. He attacks McCallum as a symbol of rampant Hoffmanism, probably because he was the most prominent writer in Hoffman’s stable at the time.

    Charniga makes good overall points (McCallum excepted), but he does sound like a person who likes to contradict for the sake of contradiction. Before you say it, pot calling kettle black, hand motions, etc.

    “You are tall, blond, with a gut, wearing Olympic weightlifting shoes”

    Sounds like me, except I’m neither tall nor blond and my gut is well concealed by baggy clothing. Otherwise it could’ve been “The Coach and I” in real life.

    • it was a good series. actually my only beef with charniga is that when he uses tables he is really boring & fails to make easily understandable points

      also he explains why us weightlifting is poor in the 60s and 70s. not an excuse anymore

      he would probably punch me in my head

Leave a Reply

