Soy el mono blanco.

My buddy Hernando was at the gym and finally returned my copy of Dinosaur Training.  He is a “gym innovator” who I’ve discussed elsewhere.  He’s about 5’10 240, and is pretty strong, though he looks a lot stronger than he is (squats 405 for a few reps, benches 315 for a few reps).  He’s also incredibly cheerful and friendly to everyone.  I’m pretty sure that if you walked up to him and said “Fuck you, you fucking asshole,”  Hernando would look confused for a fraction of a second, then smile and say, “Aw man, you must be having a bad day.  But hey, you made it in to the gym!  Exercise always makes my blues go away!”

He was doing the kettlebells around his waist while squatting thing again.  I sort of wanted to try it but lacked the energy.  Another time.  Also wanted to practice doing a Sheiko bench arch but forgot.

BW: 197.4 (down 0.2)

Manta Ray Squat: 45×4, 135×3, 225, 310, 330, 350, 365, 380, 390; 320,325x1p, 330,335,340,345,350,355,360×1, 320,325×2, 330×3

Bottom Position Squats: #9 405, 455, 505, 510, 515

To clarify, #9 is the highest position for the pins.  So it’s like taking the bar off the pins and lifting it up idk, 8 inches.  I think that I’m going to work on one rack height at a time for this and partial squats, like I did today. Should save time.

DB Bench: 30,40,50,60,70 x 15+

Mil Press: 45×8, 95×5, 135×5, 150×5

DB Skullcrushers: 2 sets

Pushdowns: 2 sets

Standing Triceps Extensions: 3 sets.  I do not like these with a dumbbell.  I do not like them with a plate.  I do not like them with a barbell.  I will not, cannot do them again, Sam I Am.

RDL: 135×3, 205×2, 275, 345, 375, 400×3; 305x3x3

Could have had better form with 400.  OTOH my RDL triple is up over 100 lbs in 2 months.  And I can pick up 400 and go up and down 3 times with no straps so I guess that’s something.

Chinups/Bar Hang: 1 or 50 sets

Like SIR, lately I’ve found that I really enjoy hanging from the chinup bar.  I found myself doing it after almost every set today.  Then when I tried to do a set of chinups I got about 2 and decided to consider it a really good set of bar hangs rather than a half-assed set of chinups.

Cable Row: 1 set

There’s a guy at the gym who is really sick (overheard him discussing his illness with someone in the locker room, but they knew what it was and were just like “how have you been feeling lately”).  IDK if he has AIDS, cancer, or what, but he’s like a walking skeleton. Still, he goes to the gym a lot, and he’s a real friendly guy. Feel bad for him.  Hope & pray that he gets well.  Today he was doing something with various machines, and I asked if he was using the cable row.  He said he was but I could work in.  I said I only had one set, so I got down to it.

Usually I find it secretly very funny when I am, for example, squatting next to a guy using 155.  But I felt shitty moving the pin from 70 to 150.  Like hey, now let me show you what a guy in normal health can do.  Ugh.  Then to make matters worse, I forgot to reset it to 70 for him.  Which I guess wasn’t that bad, since it was just a pin, but maybe next time I can work in with him on leg press and leave a few extra 45s on there for him to take off.

Shoulder Band Pulling.

Time: 2:05

5 thoughts on “Soy el mono blanco.

    • Yeah, for once I am inclined to agree with your pessimistic outlook. A quick glance in the mirror reveals some structural differences between me and that woman, namely that she is hot and limber, and I am almost the exact dimensions of a 55 gallon drum. OTOH my lifting pals often tell me that I have a good arch”. But these same pals also tell me about imaginary Russian powerlifters, and that 5/3/1 would overwork them, so I’ll take it with a grain of salt.

    • Lol might as well do degline. AC’s bench setup is actually fairly decent, though sometimes if I contract my erectors too hard they cramp soooo \handmotions

Leave a Reply

