Squatting with the Rod on the Breast

High Bar Squat: 45×4,135×3, 225×2, 305, 325, 345, 365, 385, 395, 400; 375×2, 380×1,1

Medium Grip Bench: 45×10, 115×3, 175×2, 225×1, 255×1, 285×1; 300×1,3,3

Just not feeling it today, tired in the pecs and shoulders.  Tomorrow for upper body I will just do light bodybuilding things then bench or floor press on Monday.  See if that helps.

Snatch Grip Deadlfit: 135×3, 205, 275, 345, 395, 415

An old guy and some college kids – one of them a football player – were watching me deadlift and gave me a lot of compliments.  Made me feel pretty good.

RDL: 280×2,5

Front Squat: 135, 225, 275, 295, 305, 310, 315, 320, 325; 275×1,3

All sets with no straps, which is how I will roll from now on unless otherwise noted.  Straps are so 2013, man.  Maybe if I do a ton of volume I might use them.  

Cable Crossover: 2 sets (very light)

DB Bench: 1 set

Pushups: 1 set

DB Mil Press Standing: 1 set

Pulldowns: 1 set

Wide Cable Row: 1 set

Band Pulling: @ home

Time: 2:00

11 thoughts on “Squatting with the Rod on the Breast

  1. oh okay, i never use straps on deadlifts but I used them on front squats is what I’m talking about. When you say volume, what are you referring to? like 10×10? just getting in a certain # of reps at a %?

    • Oh man i just use my hands but never seen one do it with straps. I think someone told me that they used towels during highschool but back then wasnt intrested in front squats so I never really took his advice.

      • Is there anything significance for using straps in front squats? I mean don’t you kinda just rest those on your shoulder muscles.

      • It’s really just for people who don’t wanna stress their wrists by using their hands. The guy in the video had sprained his wrist, otherwise he used the clean-style grip, and Coach just wasn’t flexible enough before. Though it sounds like he’s gotten stretched out now.

  2. As a won a challenge I have a few months of personnel training for free, for the first time i’ve walked into the weights area of the gym and done things i’d never do in the past. While your getting compliments , I feel like i’m getting people laughing at me , I know its in my head but I am so intimidated by the weights area.

    • Your gym sounds like a soap opera. I don’t know, maybe all the women at my gym and the trainers are secretly plotting behind one another’s backs too. But I would try to find another gym. And if it makes you feel any better I only laugh at the women who are doing something that looks like they are auditioning for the circus. Or the strip club.

Leave a Reply

