The same thing we do every day…

The last two days have been a continual snowstorm.  Today when I called the gym to see if it was open, there was no answer.  Did I call every fifteen minutes from 8:30 until 11:00, when the desk lady finally picked up?  Ha, that would be totally obsessive. So…yeah.

Really nothing exciting happened there today.  Much as I’d like to tell about some violent confrontation or sexual encounter (I’ll probably make one up next week, that post got a lot of hits), I just lifted and thought about how my performance would appear to various followers of my blog.  (e.g. this is less weight than Celiac front squats, wait til Fatman and Wo see this volume, etc)

Two hot chicks I haven’t told you about.  One in black spandex tank top and pants.  Slender toned bod, ehh face, works hard, but does stupid girl stuff.  Kickbacks with 8 lb dumbbell.  Lunging curls.  Whatever, it works for her.  Tans too much.  Really, it’s the middle of winter.  And you’re orange.

Other girl was a college soccer player.  5’10, blonde with a french braid.  Swedish or Swiss or something probably.  Gray t-shirt and black lycra pants.  Ass a little big, but some guys like that.  Did a lot of fancy stuff her college strength coach probably showed her.  Overhead squats.  Power hang clean.  He would be proud of her form.  That she only used the bar?  Not so much.

Also all of my hated foes:.  Red Birdman and White Kenyan, benching 135 and 115 respectively. Mr. “Why Do You Need to Squat 500?”, doing rack pulls with 155.  And The Enemy himself, doing his box squats to a bench – all sorts of fucked up – with the same weight (245) he used two years ago.  Then Leg Press.  How can you call yourself a crossfitter and do the leg press?  The leg press, btw is the most worthless piece of shit in any gym.  There were no incidents; I just rejoiced in their weakness and carried on:

High Bar Squat: 45×5, 115×3, 180×2, 240, 295, 325, 355, 375, 395, 405, 410; 340,345,350,355,360,365,370×1, 340x2x2, 345,350,355×1, 340×2

Close Grip Bench: 45×8, 95×3, 135×2, 175, 215, 245, 275, 295, 315, 330; 275,280,285,290,295×1, 275×5

Spotters were weak today and my pecs were sore, so I took it a little easy.

Snatch Grip Deadlift: 135×3, 205, 275, 345, 375, 395

Front Squat: (135×2), 185,205,210,215,220,225,230,235,240,245,250,255×1, 225,230×2

Most sets done beltless.  Sets in parenthesis not counted towards volume.  I tried the Olympic front squat grip and managed it up to 235 lbs with no real problem.  I guess my wrists were looser bc I did them later in the workout.  The most I have ever done like that before is 155 about 3 years ago.  Not kidding.

RDL: 260,265×3, 270×4

Band Pulling for shoulders

Felt pretty good about this workout. Psyched for tomorrow.  Just going to do squats and front squats till I hit 425 high bar.  I don’t deserve to do special squat exercises till I can do that.

This took about 2:30.  Wanted to adequately punish myself.  Also not anxious to go home to family after being with them 24/7 for the last 17 weeks trapped in the snow like The Shining.

Note: Front squat grip just happened.  Not a result of anything I did.  Some of you remember that about a week ago I was going to try mobbing.  That was about the fastest thing I ever quit.  I watched Mob WOD #1:  Sit in squat position for 10 minutes.  Thought “I can do that”  (I do it all the time around the house, waiting for bus, when talking to Hajis about IEDs, etc)  Did it for about 4 minutes.  Got bored.  Decided that mobbing is a scam and a prison.

I do these 2 things from California Strength before I squat.  Seems to help.  I guess it’s sort of like stretching, which is evil and wrong.  So I’m a hypocrite.  What else is new?

4 thoughts on “The same thing we do every day…

  1. You’ve always used the cross-armed rack for Front Squats? *shudder* It always feels like my shoulders are always a lot softer/less turned on with that rack than the clean-rack…

    Been enjoying reading through your blog. The gap between 2006 and 2009 makes me sad, though… Also, it seems like you lost some older posts moving from your old blog?

  2. No, I do a rack like the cross armed rack for weights up to about 250-275. Hands facing me at center of bar, sides of hands touching but not overlapping/crossed. Above that, I loop straps around the bar and hold the straps close to the bar. Depending how much you read back, you can see where I used a front squat harness and got a pretty easy 349

    Glad you like the blog. The biggest reason for gap between 2006 and 2009 is because I was in Iraq for a lot of that time and there were/are opsec concerns and concerns about privacy/good taste.

    Like this: Today our company went to Iskandariyah with the rest of the batallion. We’re planning a major attack on the al-Jabr apartments at 0600 tomorrow morning. I really hope that we don’t hit any IEDs on MSR Tampa because our Humvees don’t have the new armor yet!

    or this: Last night we were out on patrol and we found six dead Iraqis out by a canal. It was dark and SPC T, who was on point, stepped on – or rather *in* one. He was so freaked out that he pissed his pants! lololol

    i do have journals, and I base a lot of the fiction that I write on those years. so maybe someday something will come out of it.

Leave a Reply

