The Chelada

I would like to have something interesting to report, but no one was working out in their underwear today.

So here’s a recipe for a drink I enjoy.

Chelada

Equipment:

  • Big glass, like 24 oz.
  • Small saucer
  • Chili Powder
  • Sea salt
  • Lime juice
  • Hot sauce (I prefer Siriacha)
  • Tomato juice
  • Beer (best is a can of crappy american yellow beer, like Bud, but hey if you want to waste a good beer, that works too.)

Prep:

  1. Put a bunch of the sea salt and chili powder in the saucer.
  2. Wet the rim of the glass and rub it in the salt/chili powder so that the rim is coated.  Yeah, like a margarita.
  3. Squirt Siriacha into the bottom of the glass until you’ve covered the bottom.  If you use a thinner sauce, you’ll want a little more.
  4. Squirt in some lime juice.  I dunno, two squirts.
  5. Pour in 8-10 oz of tomato juice.
  6. Pour the beer in from some height above the glass.  This will mix it and mean you don’t need to dirty a spoon.
  7. If you have any beer left over in the can, drink it.  Use less tomato juice next time.
  8. Enjoy your Chelada.

T-mag had an article last week about how “alcohol is like drain cleaner for your body.”  What a load of horse hooey.  Drinking in moderation is best.  Want scientific proof?  My son and daughter do not drink alcohol.  My wife drinks maybe one drink every two years.  I drink in moderation and I can squat more than all three of them put together!  My daughter cannot actually squat, or she’d tip over.  Same with Bill the Hobo who lives in a tent in the woods near my house.  Clearly, too much or too little alcohol both result in tipping over when you squat.

High Bar Squat: 45×4, 110×3, 175×2, 235, 285, 325, 350, 370, 380, 390, 390

In more news from the hypocritical, wishy-washy, follows one info source for a week then becomes an obsessive disciple front: I think I’m going to try “mobbing”.  I’ll get a hold of a lacrosse ball and try some mobilitywod videos and see if there is any use.  I feel pretty good, but if I could push press, front squat etc more weight that would be better.

Bottom Position Squat: #13 225, 315, 335, #12 315, 365, 385

Could have done more, but every once in a while I start to get sore in the CNS.

High Bar Squat: 255, 275, 295, 315, 335, 340, 255,260,265×2, 270×3

Push Press: 45×8, 95×3, 135×2, 175, 205, 225, 229; 190,195,195,200,205,210, 190×2,2,2,3

I dunno, I thought after I missed 225 that it might have been because I was using a different rack than I usually do, so I switched racks.  It wasn’t the rack.  My weakness today could have been bc of my heavy bench yesterday or the fact that I worked out only 14 hrs previously.  I hope it means that I’ll have a good bench tomorrow.

RDL: 185×2, 255×1, 290×1, 320×3; 225,230×3, 235×4

I can actually do more by deadlifting these off the floor, lowering & raising for each rep, then returning to the floor then I can if I take the bar off a rack.  My form is getting better to the point where I think doubles or even singles would be productive.

Chinups: too few to even be worthwhile mentioning

Time: 2:10, not counting band pulling which I may or may not do tonight.

Leave a Reply

