My ETS date

Today is my ETS date. ETS stands for Expiration of Term of Service. It’s the day I am supposed to get out of the Army. It came and went with little fanfare, because the Army can ignore it at will. First they were going to stop-loss me and they made my new ETS date 5/26/2010. Then they ended up holding onto me for medical reasons which means that my new ETS date is ??? or whenever they are done with slowly processing all the paperwork. Could be July, could be anytime.

I remember thinking about my ETS date for the first time in a longing fashion. I remember how I had 1800+ days to go. I tried to picture myself getting out of the Army. They were pretty joyous thoughts. Now, it as if Christmas has been postponed to July. Ish.

One thought on “My ETS date

Leave a Reply

