Dictionary of Army "Meeting-Speak"

High-vis(ability) – Someone more important to me, (or the media) is paying attention to this issue.

Lost-vis(ability) – We totally forgot about this shit, dude.

I have a lot on my plate – I’m going to pretend I have a ton of stuff to do, but I don’t want to be hemmed in by being specific.

We’ve got a lot on our plate – You have a ton of stuff to do, don’t expect any time off.

Push this to the right – We’ll do this later. Probably.

I’m tracking on this – Yeah. Sure. Whatever.

Let’s continue to focus on this ­– You’ve done a terrible job on this so far, but I don’t have anyone else to work on it, so keep on trying your best.

Let’s tweak that for next week – That’s all fucked up. Fix it or I’ll crush your nuts at next week’s meeting.

I’m going to have to pour through that – I guess you emailed me something about this, but I didn’t bother to read it. I’ll glance at it later. Maybe.

We’re going to have to embrace this – I know this is gay, but they’re making us do this.

We’ll have to think outside the box on this one – The Army has so thoroughly corrupted my brain cells, I don’t know what to do.

I’ve got you in my radar – Look, I’ll talk to you later about this crap. Maybe.

Let’s not reinvent the wheel – Somebody’s got to have done this before at their old unit, right?

IPR – A meeting about the upcoming meetings.

Challenge – Hideously difficult shit no-one wants to do.

I wanted to give you a head’s up – You’re about to get challenged.

Here’s an easy fix for that – I’m about to make a stupid suggestion that worked in 1985, when I was a private, but is just going to make your problem worse.

What’s driving that? – Says who?

I’m prepared to support that – Stop laughing at that guy’s idea. We’re actually doing this.

We may have to bump heads on this – As soon as this meeting is over I’m going to their office to choke slam some civilian.

What I don’t want happening is… – I’ve been in the Army long enough to see what you’re up to.

I’ve seen this animal before – This happened to us “back at Bragg.”

Leave a Reply

