I don’t need a passport.

Today: +2
Days Rated: 172
Average Day: 1.29

Today I was on staff duty with Gibson and SSG Lugo. However, I spent all morning dealing with various “I’m trying to get out of Anchorage” errands related to my mission. One of these was the debacle of the passport. SGT Preble paid 160 bucks for his passport, and told me I would have to do the same thing. I had a feeling that this was the wrong answer. Nothing in the Army costs Joe mandatory money, except for maybe a few dollars for a haircut, or to get something sewn on your uniform. So I went to see the civilian in charge of things like passports.

Coach: I need a passport.
Government Official: Where are you going?
Coach: Iraq.
GO: Iraq?
Coach: uhh…possibly Kuwait for a couple of days, too.
GO: See, we occupy Iraq. Therefore, they do not issue passports.

He made a few phone calls and discovered that the 4 page memo they’d given me that said I needed a passport was incorrect. Pages 2 and 3 were actually part of an entirely different memo for some other group of guys. This is good and bad. It’s good that I don’t have to worry about getting a passport, but bad because page 3 authorized me to have a jetpack, retractable Wolverine claws and a briefcase full of cash in small unmarked bills.

Leave a Reply

