Sad News

From the Alaska Post:

“Private 1st Class Joe Cruise (name changed by me), was found guilty March 21 on one violation each of articles 92, 120 and 134 of the Uniform Code of Military Justice.

“Cruise was found guilty of rape, wrongfully having sexual intercourse with a married woman and wrongfully consuming alcoholic beverages while under the age of 21.

“He was sentenced to be reduced to E-1, confinement for three years, forfeiture of all pay and allowances and to be discharged from the service with a bad conduct discharge.”

Now, Cruiser did a lot of things wrong, and if he had been sentenced to 3 years for the drug taking, the drinking, adultery, and the fighting, I would have been like “Oh well, that’s tough military justice for you.”

But various sources who know more about the case than I said the charges are utter hogwash. According to them, it was one of those things where he was “raping” her three times a week for the last two months, and when her husband found out, she claimed that he forced her. These sources also say that the woman has done this exact same thing at least once before.

Cruise was told by both his attorneys to fight the charges, but because he was scared of getting found guilty and getting 20 years in federal military prison, he plead guilty. I can’t say I really blame him, but the whole affair leaves a sour taste in my mouth.

Cruise, I doubt you can read this, but remember The Count of Monte Cristo, and that you’ll only be 22 when you get out for a fresh start. I’ll write you as soon as I get your address from Adams or Rogerson. I hate how this story ended, I have some good stories to tell from happier times when me and Cruiser were both at Ft. Benning. Another time I’ll post them because they’re pretty funny, but I’m not really in the mood right now.

Leave a Reply

