Cleaning

Today: +1
Days Rated: 100
Average Day: 2.44

Today we cleaned the weapons. Then in the afternoon we sat around and didn’t clean weapons. I noticed that grown men who are soldiers in the US Army regularly behave like small children waiting for the school’s out bell when it comes to getting out of work for the day. We sit around, gripe about not doing anything, or doing too much. We fidget and check our watches. When the leaders go and have their conferences about the next day’s events we are unsupervised, so we hit each other and make loud plans for our free time. “Dude I’m going to ___ until I have to come back to work tomorrow morning.”
Fill in the blanks with sleep, play video games, have sex, drink, or any other embodiment of one of the 7 deadly sins.
At that point the leaders come back and tell us the briefing for the next day. Imagine having to wait for 2 1/2 hours sitting in your office while the district manager met with the foremen, and then all they have to announce to you is that work will start at the same time as it always does. At this point SGT Uptegrove will say, “All right, I’m done with you guys. Team leaders, got anything?” The team leaders will shake their heads sadly… and then I’m the only one who leaps to his feet and runs away. You would think everyone else would be anxious to leave too, but they sit there and talk for several more minutes. I hope I don’t hurt anyone’s feelings, but after I’ve been talking to people for 10 hours, and then I plan to talk to them every day after that for the next several years, the only thing on my mind is running away as fast as possible, going to my room and locking the door shut.

Leave a Reply

